Breaking News
Google Duo - Android app by Google

Google Duo now lets users send pictures with an expiration date

Snapchat had introduced a feature where you could let a contact view a picture sent to him or her for a limited amount of time. Google Duo seems to have replicated the same in its Version 56.

This version of Google Duo lets users share pictures with their contacts with a set expiry date for the pictures. With the use of the Photos app, users can select a single picture and share it with their contacts on the phone.

The users of the app can also make edits to their pictures by adding text and scribbles and then decide on the expiry date of the photo.

Before sending the photo a user needs to decide how long it will let the receiver view the picture. The receiver can view the image once received and then continue to view it when he wishes until the date of expiry.

It is important to note that even if the sender presses the delete button from his phone the receiver will still get to see the picture and will not get deleted from the receiver’s phone.

There is no undo option once the picture has been sent on this app. Once the image is sent from the sender’s phone, there is no way to delete it.

So you need to be very cautious while sharing images and double check the receiver’s name. It is not possible to send more than one picture at a time. Users can send just one photo at a time from the Google Photos app.

Currently, there is no option to reply to a picture with a picture. Users can only reply with a video call or a video message. 9to5Google was the first to discover that Google Duo 56 was rolling out such a feature on the Google Play Store.

Source: 9to5Google | Android Police

About David Aguiar

David is a tech enthusiast in the Android ecosystem and he uses this space to share his insights and opinions about Android apps, latest happenings and leaks.

Check Also

Stay Safer feature on Google Maps

‘Stay Safer’ feature offered by Google Maps in India on Android

Once you tap on the 'Stay Safer' feature, you are presented with two options on your screen. The first option allows you to share the live progress of your trip with your family and friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.