Snapchat had introduced a feature where you could let a contact view a picture sent to him or her for a limited amount of time. Google Duo seems to have replicated the same in its Version 56.
This version of Google Duo lets users share pictures with their contacts with a set expiry date for the pictures. With the use of the Photos app, users can select a single picture and share it with their contacts on the phone.
The users of the app can also make edits to their pictures by adding text and scribbles and then decide on the expiry date of the photo.
Before sending the photo a user needs to decide how long it will let the receiver view the picture. The receiver can view the image once received and then continue to view it when he wishes until the date of expiry.
It is important to note that even if the sender presses the delete button from his phone the receiver will still get to see the picture and will not get deleted from the receiver’s phone.
There is no undo option once the picture has been sent on this app. Once the image is sent from the sender’s phone, there is no way to delete it.
So you need to be very cautious while sharing images and double check the receiver’s name. It is not possible to send more than one picture at a time. Users can send just one photo at a time from the Google Photos app.
Currently, there is no option to reply to a picture with a picture. Users can only reply with a video call or a video message. 9to5Google was the first to discover that Google Duo 56 was rolling out such a feature on the Google Play Store.